Author Topic: feeding a show ewe lamb  (Read 3892 times)

bpool8790

• View Profile
feeding a show ewe lamb
« on: November 03, 2015, 08:14:44 am »
Im fairly new to feeding show lambs, im a hog guy myself but my trouble seems to be that this girl has a belly,  she was getting 3.5 lbs a day,  brought her down to 2.5-3,  she gets a handful of grass mix, i recently switched to alfalfa which seemed to help some.  She lacks in muacle to me she is a march born and we were shooting for a march show but may hit denver instead.  Started some champion drive for muscle.  Im looking for basic advice on ridding the belly and maybe an opinion or two.. i can email pictures if anyone cares to critique this girl..
  • Brad Pool

EmsoffLambs

• Emsoff Livestock Company
  • Administrator
  • Crystal Emsoff
    • View Profile
Re: feeding a show ewe lamb
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2015, 08:58:01 am »
 A picture would be helpful to see exactly what you would consider a belly. Sheep these days do have more capacity than they did ten years ago and depth in the rear flank is considered a good thing. Also, ewe lambs will tend to get "broodier" as they mature and will loose that hard, youthful look at an earlier age than wethers.

How much does she weigh?
  • Crystal Emsoff
Breeder of quality club lambs in Northern California

tsylvester

• View Profile
    • Sylvester Livestock
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2015, 09:39:24 am »
As mentioned pictures are helpful....if it is a gassy/bloaty type of belly we give them free choice baking soda.  This helps the ones that seem to carry a liquid/gas type of belly.
  • TJ Sylvester
Breeder of Southdowns & Hampshires

EmsoffLambs

• Administrator
  • Crystal Emsoff
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2015, 06:43:15 am »
Here are pictures of the lamb.

• Crystal Emsoff
Breeder of quality club lambs in Northern California

tsylvester

• View Profile
    • Sylvester Livestock
« Reply #4 on: November 04, 2015, 08:43:57 am »